An organization is only as strong as those members who support its goals. Through the efforts of our committees, we continue to serve our membership and enhance an environment of professional development.

We need your time and talent to continue our success. If you can help, contact the committee chair or click their "Join this committee" link.

Achievement of Excellence (AEP) Committee

Join this committee 

Shawn Willett, Chair 

This committee will be determined by the National AEP Committee.  TxPPA has two seats on this Board.  These two members will serve as co-chairs and be responsible for organizing the awards portion of the breakfast on Friday of the Fall Conference. 

Communications Committee

Join this committee

Jeanine Charles, Chair

There shall be a Communication Committee, consisting of a Chairperson and at least two (2) other members.  The committee shall be responsible for all internal and external mass communications for the Association.

Conference Committee

Join this committee

Brandi Whittenton, Chair

There shall be a Conference Committee, consisting of a Chairperson and at least two (2) other members.  This committee shall be responsible for working with the management company to plan and organize the Conference(s) as determined by the Board.

Constitution, Bylaws and Policy Committee

Join this committee

Rebecca Ray, Chair

If you have an interest in knowing the exciting history of the TxPPA and making sure that sound principles and rules are developed and adhered to, please join our Historian and our Constitution/Policy Committee. 

Finance Committee

Join this committee

Melissa Lee, Chair
There shall be a Finance Committee, consisting of the Treasurer as the Chairperson, and at least two (2) other members, to assist in preparing the annual budget, and conduct the annual internal audit. 

Legislative Committee

Join this committee

Jennifer Calderon, Chair
There shall be a Legislative Committee, consisting of a Chairperson and at least one (1) member from each: county, municipal, and school agencies, for a minimum of four (4) members.  This committee shall be responsible for monitoring, reviewing, and reporting relevant legislative issues to the membership.

Membership Committee

Join this committee
Hershel Becker, Chair

The Membership Committee Chair is appointed by the President.  The committee shall consist of at least three members. The primary objective is to promote TxPPA through a continued effort to retain existing and secure new members.


Nominating Committee

Join this committee

Victor Castillo, Chair
The Nominating Committee shall consist of not less than three (3) members including the Vice-President and two regular members of TxPPA appointed by the President. The Chairman shall be the Vice-President. The Committee shall receive and evaluate nominations from the membership regarding individuals recommended for candidacy.
Reina Fontanez, Chair
There shall be a Professional Development Committee, consisting of a Chairperson and at least two (2) other members.  This committee shall be responsible for surveying and reviewing the education and professional development needs of Association membership, coordinating educational and professional development training for the membership, and coordinating certification-related educational programs with other organizations. 


Scholarship Committee

Join this committee

Open, Chair
The Scholarship Chair is responsible for gathering scholarship applications and determining a means to fairly award scholarship.  Currently a metric system is used and point values are assigned to determine those winners.

Special Assistance Committee

Join this committee

Janelle Chapman, Chair

Special Assistance Chairperson will be responsible to provide assistance to any governmental entity requesting purchasing expertise in setting up a new purchasing department/division or any other purchasing related request. More Information...

Texas Municipal League Liaison

Tim Slifka, Chair

The TxPPA Board of Directors shall appoint a liaison to serve on the TML Board of Directors for a period of two years.  

Texas Unified Procurement Code (UPC)

Join this committee

Shawn Willett Headshot Resized.jpg - 567.94 Kb  Cindy White

Shawn Willett, Co-Chair
Cindy White, Co-Chair

The UPC Committee will continue to work with interested stakeholders to further the creation and adoption of a Unified Procurement Code for Texas. More Information...

Website Committee

Join this committee

Tim Slifka, Chair

The Website Committee, with assistance of the Communication Committee, Membership Committee, Historian, and Executive Director, is responsible for maintaining the Association Website. Please consider joining this committee if you have website design knowledge or would like to assist in the continued improvement of our member website.